Letter; 7th March, 1915.

Censored Letter 7th March: Essars

Dear Tom,

Just a few lines to let you know I received your welcome letter of the 2nd alright. Glad to hear you are keeping well. I am keeping not so bad myself at present but the weather is painful. It is like Greenock, nothing but rain.

I am very sorry Jim Pye did not go in for the Campbell Cup but he was always a sport. He would be thinking it would not be fair for the remainder.

I hope the overtime does not prevent one of the teams from lifting the Cowan Cup.

I enjoyed the tobacco alright, tom. It is very good and will last me a long time yet.

Thank you for letting me know the result of the Competition as I always like to hear how everything is going on. Jack McKinnon won’t like being last but somebody has to be there.

Tell Currie I was glad to hear he did so well also Henry, though I don’t know him, but I hope to someday. I wonder when a Holeborer is going to lift that cup.

I am very glad that Jack McDonald is getting leave as everybody out here from the start should.

If he comes home ask him what Brigade he is in and let me know so I will know where to look for him if I get near his Division.

I am also glad he has been made Sergeant but as you were saying it is time I was hurrying up with a stripe or two. We don’t bother about that. If I had been with my old Regiment it might have been different. Another thing is it will not make any difference to me after the war is over but if a man is still serving with the Colours it will mean a terrible amount of difference to him. Also, a great amount are being made Corporals and Sergeants but still receive a Private’s pay so what is the good of me bothering and I am quite contented.

I have a nice job at present, orderly on one of the New Motor Ambulances that joined us two months back.

As I am a transfer to the R.A.M.C. you could not expect me to be promoted over men who know more than I do.

Still, I often wish I was back in the Black Watch again as we often collect their wounded, in fact, we are doing so just now, them and the London Scottish. I feel more at home with them than I do in what I am in.

I am on duty tonight all night, up beside the Black Watch and London Scottish but everything is very quiet just now. Yesterday when our Artillery started a very heavy bombardment and kept it up for two hours, the noise was terrible. They seem to have done some good, otherwise everything is quiet.

I expect there will be a big burst out soon, one way or the other.

I am very sorry to hear about Rice and also the loss he suffered. I hope he won’t be long till he is well again. Tell him I am very sorry to hear of his mother’s death.

I have not seen anything in the papers yet and we have not been told about sending souvenirs.

I see by your letter Martin Williams has been in hospital again. It is hard luck on Martin but I hope he won’t be long till he is well again.

I am also sorry to hear that there have been a lot of accidents, though Tom I see worse sights out here than I ever saw in the Yard. The ones in the Yard cannot be prevented; the ones out here might have been if there had been no Germany.

It will be a hard job if they close the Pubs. I don’t see why they should. If they do I won’t come home on leave if I get the chance but it is stopped for our Division at present as far as I know.

I hope to see Mooney and the rest of the boys out here soon. I will keep my eyes open for them and hope to introduce them to some French girls. No more at present as I have to go on duty now. Tell all the boys I was asking for them.

From your old Pal, J. McF

Leave a Reply

